top of page
  • Writer's pictureNadav Ida

Exploring Budapest: A Journey Through Its Unique Inner Districts

Updated: Sep 9, 2023

District I: Castle District (Várkerület)

This district is home to some of Budapest's most iconic landmarks, including the Buda Castle, Matthias Church, and Fisherman's Bastion. The Castle District is known for its medieval, baroque, and 19th-century buildings, streets, and squares.

District V: Belváros-Lipótváros

This is the heart of Budapest and includes the historic downtown area. It's home to the Hungarian Parliament Building, St. Stephen's Basilica, and the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. This district is also a major commercial area with high-end shops and restaurants.

District VI: Terézváros

Named after Empress Maria Theresa, this district is known for Andrássy Avenue, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The avenue is lined with Neo-Renaissance mansions and townhouses featuring fine facades and interiors.

District VII: Erzsébetváros

This district is known for its vibrant nightlife and is home to the historic Jewish Quarter. The Dohány Street Synagogue, the largest synagogue in Europe, is located here.

District VIII: Józsefváros

This district has a diverse mix of grand boulevards and dilapidated buildings. It's known for its Palace Quarter, where many aristocratic palaces were built in the 18th century and several respected universities are located.

District IX: Ferencváros

This district is home to the National Theater and the Palace of Arts. It's also known for Raday Street, a street full of restaurants and cafes.

District XIII: Újlipótváros & Angyalföld

This district is a popular residential area known for its Art Nouveau buildings. It's also home to Margaret Island, a peaceful park on the Danube River.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page